UHY Scholar bags 1st Class degree in Economics at the University of Ibadan

Mr. Adeyefa Toluwanimi Richard, a UHY Scholar bags 1st Class Honours Degree in the 2015/16 Economics Class of the University of Ibadan. He is the first UHY Scholar in that University and has eminently justified the purpose of this initiative.

The UHY Maaji Scholarship programmme was borne out of the desire to motivate the best entry level student in accounting or economics admitted in four of Nigeria oldest Universities – University of Ibadan, University of Lagos, Obafemi Awolowo University and University of Benin.   Its main objective is to contribute to the development of the accounting and consulting professions in Nigeria.

The scholarship  worth N100, 000.00 (One Hundred Thousand Naira Only) per annum is awarded annually for the entry level student admitted into the department of Accounting or Economics (for institutions that do not offer accounting programmes) with the highest aggregate admission scores in JAMB, post-UME and NECO or WAEC.  

About University of Ibadan

Established 68 years ago, the University of Ibadan, UI as it is fondly referred to, is the first University in Nigeria. Until 1962 when it became a full-fledged independent University, it was a College of the University of London known as University College Ibadan.

The University, which took off with academic programmes in Arts, Science and Medicine, is now a comprehensive citadel of learning with academic programmes in thirteen Faculties namely, Arts, Science, Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Agriculture and Forestry, the Social Sciences, Education, Veterinary Medicine, Pharmacy, Technology, Law, Public Health and Dentistry.

It has the distinction of having produced Nigeria’s first Nobel laureate, Wole Soyinka among its illustrious Alumni.